Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information my be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Data gathering during the pre-interview process has been topic of discussion. Where some believes information such as their preferred leisure activities or marital status is completely irrelevant while others disagree. This essay believes acquainting the organization about these information is not a matter of concern because it could be used to analyze the candidates’ efficiency, at the same time it could be shared for profit gains.

On the one hand, data given to these organization could be sold to the third-party company whose major work is to gather personal data, and these information could be employed into various ways such as marketing or influencing the masses on certain issues. In other words, data these days are as valuable as gold because it has proven out to be the key for prediction analysis for business models. The Times reported recently that the data provided to the job portals, of jobseekers, are mostly from employers who conducts the interviews which is later used for marketing by these companies. However, data required by these companies are already present in the internet, such as the Facebook or the Google, so the interviewee should not have any concern of privacy breaching.

On the other hand, psychologists suggests employs’ productivity could be predicted from their basic information. This means a person’s choices of activities to unwind themselves clearly states its work efficiency. In other words, for any organization their labor force should always be efficient in order to provide better end-result. Additionally, marital status indicates the possibility of stretching the working hours or business travelling when required. A married person is less likely to commit itself to such requirement as their family is dependent on them. A research in Yale university, which is ranked among the elite institutes, suggests that pre-analyzing the employees at the time of hiring gives better outcome in the longer run.

In conclusion, although the data provided by the candidate for interviews process seems to be at the risk, nevertheless, these data provides an edge to their candidature if their personal information are coinciding with the companies’ requirement