Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is often thought that every nation should offer the latest medical facilities to its citizens, irrespective of expenses and availability. I completely agree with this notion, not only because it is the fundamental right and taxes paying by people, but also because of deaths due to unaffordability. This essay will explore how these factors justify my opinion.

Firstly, the factor that compelled me to agree with this statement is people pay taxes to the state. The government has fixed a specific percentage on everything which they claim to spend for the betterment of the citizens, and that has to be paid by its. Take an example of Brazil, where a single person’s average tax is five thousand dollars per year, which is spent by the government to provide state-of-the-art facilities to its citizens. Thus, it is justified to provide expensive health services to citizens.

Secondly, free medical treatment is the basic right of a person. As the government is responsible for providing basic necessities such as health, food, shelter, so getting free health care is included in basic rights. For instance, states assume the obligations and duties under the International Law, to respect, to protect, and provide all fundamental rights. Hence, despite the cost, nations should provide free health services to their people.

Finally, if treatments were not available, then it would result in higher morbidity and mortality rate in the country. As some segments of society such as unemployed, retired, and poor people are unable to get medical services due to its high cost, which resulted in increased suffering in the country.

To sum up, I believe that I completely agree with the statement not only because of the levy imposed by the government upon citizens and providing free health facilities is the government’s obligation, and higher death rates.