Governments and big companies should work together to reverse environmental damage, rather than making individuals responsible for that. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Collective efforts are required to address the problems of environmental damage. Some people think that Governments and Corporate houses should take the onus of correct the current situation and individuals should excluded from this responsibility. Honestly, I disagree to this notation, as I believe that as a part of this world, every individual is equally responsible for actions and reactions of environmental damage.

Firstly, lets us look into the reasons why people think that Governments and big companies should take the lead to work to reverse the depletion of natural resources. People elect government so that government can make policies and rules, considering the welfare of the people. Government of any nation has a full power and authority to make strict rules and regulations to control the pollution and overuse of natural resources. Government can drive the national level campaign to promote recycling of materials. For example in European countries, government promotes recycling of materials as a result the generation of rubbish is reduced upto 60% in last 8 years. Big companies are in better position to take the corrective measures to reduce pollution. These companies can use renewable sources of energy and adopt the better ways of waste disposal. As industrialization is the major cause of environmental damage, so industries should take the ownership to do some serious efforts to protect environment.

Although, Government and big companies are in better position to create the impactful recovery to environmental damage, but the efforts at individual level can never ignored. For example, in my Society, every family keep the surrounding of their home clean and well maintained as a result whole society gives a great feel of cleanliness without putting any extra budget or extra manpower. Similarly if every individual take the onus to protect environment. They can reduce the use of plastics. People can reverse the environmental damage by avoiding the unnecessary use of vehicles. Individuals should save water, grow trees and start using solar energy to save the environment.

In the end, we can conclude that it is not a single sided responsibility of governments and big corporate houses but individuals also have the share the onus of environmental protection.