In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been observed that laws are enforced by the government to prohibit smoking in public places. In this case, the people who want to smoke should satisfy their desire in isolation and not socially. In my opinion, I strongly agree that it is correct to forbid people from smoking in public areas as it has negative impact on other people.

To begin with, the foremost reason for prohibiting smoking in public area is the adverse effects it has on the health of passive smokers. If the people smoke in public, then others who inhale this smoke also get affected by cardio vascular and respiratory diseases. Thus, the smoking person puts the life of other people also in trouble, so smoking in public places should be strictly avoided. For example, research has shown that secondary smokers have higher risk of heart failure than the main smoker

Another reason for restricting smoking in public is it leaves negative effect on the minds of innocent children. A child is immature to understand the repercussions of smoking and may imitate the act when he sees elders doing the same. Apparently, they set a bad example to others, particularly to their younger generation and indirectly encourage them to follow their footpath. Therefore, by framing such law, a country can protect the young generation from indulging into smoking.

Finally, limiting the public smoking will create a thought in person that this act is inappropriate and not allowed in public. In other words, the smoker would realise that he should not smoke as it is harmful to the society. Hence, such restrictions may encourage smokers to come out of their addiction and live a healthy life.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that smoking in public is harmful as it affect the health of other people and spoils the young generation to get into the addiction. Moreover, such laws to prevent smoking in public can prove inspiring for people to get rid of smoking and thus, in public places smoking must be restricted.