Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Opinions are divided on why museums and ancient sites are majorly visited by non-natives. I believe that lack of interest could be the cause for indigenous people, and the solution lies in the hands of the government.

Local visitors are not attracted to art galleries and historical buildings for reasons which relate to lack of interest and wastage of their hard-earned money on it. With regard to the former, the native population is least interested in visiting such local sites as they are already familiar with their culture and history and perhaps have nothing new to discover by visiting the same museum repeatedly; therefore, they avoid visiting these places as they consider such visits a waste of time. In contrast, foreigners are keen to visit these places as it will help them to have a better understanding of the history and culture of the countries they are visiting. As for the money, entry fees of these ancient buildings are on the higher side, which discourages local people to visit them. Instead of squandering their hard-earned money on visiting museums again, one would love to spend it on food and other activities, such as movies and visiting other places of attractions.

Encouraging local people and providing discounts on entry tickets offer the best chance of attracting natives to museums and historical sites. As far as motivation is concerned, the local authorities could organize various types of exhibitions, such as arts and drawing competitions at these places to provide members of the local society with a new experience every time they visit them. Another solution would be offering free tickets and discounts at the weekends so that low-income and middle-income families can visit. For instance, schools can provide assignments related to the history of a country, and this will motivate parents to take their children to the historical museums to collect useful information which will help them excel in their studies.

In conclusion, local people do not enjoy visiting museums or historical places because there is not much they can learn from these places. Tourists, on the other hand, are curious to learn more and more about their destinations and hence they make it a point to visit these places. The government can encourage more natives to visit by conducting interesting programs like exhibitions at these places and offering free or subsidized entry.