Many people prefer to spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Globalization has affected various aspects of countries, not to mention its impact on the way people used to think regarding saving for future. At present, nations initiated no-border policy along with social welfare schemes which indirectly made many people find it worth spending the income than saving for later time. Such thought can bring good changes in the community.

Formulation and implementation of proposal to wipe-out border among nations can be considered hard-earned achievements of governments. This action enables countrymen to travel among different landscapes without much hussle, so the barrier in international-tourism is absent, but then again, this marvelous opportunity to mix-up with international cultures is expensive. As a result, citizens spend their savings to become an active member of cosmopolitan community. The emergence of Shenzhen visa can be considered as example, where dwellers of European countries can not only travel in any member countries, but also work and stay for indefinite period of time, so the cost of mobility is making it impossible to save money. Staying in foreign countries is costly, making public unable to save currency.

The development of public welfare schemes has also emerged to be very effective for old agers. Dynamic medical insurance schemes coupled with pension schemes for senior citizens ensures peace-of-mind of general civilians. As the prime concern to save money was to cover the medical treatments and expenses of later life, young people has less interest to start Deposit Pension Schemes for future. In France, for example, the number of deposit accounts has dropped to 60% in 2017 than that of 2004. Rather than saving a part of their income, young workers focus on personal development and entertainment. The availability of welfare schemes for general public gives them reason not to save for future.

To conclude, Change in public opinion about saving for future is positive considering the money is being spent in international travels and personal developments. Furthermore, nobody is going to be affected financially because of the availability of health insurance and pension schemes.