Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technological advancement in communication has tremendously changed the way people interact and make relationship with others. Although there are few good sides of it, I think it has damaging negative impacts on the society.

With the emergence of technology oriented networking, popularly known as social networking, people has now become less social than they were in the past. Previously our parents used to interact more even in smaller social events such as birth of a child or wedding ceremony of some distant relative. They would usually gather in case of any accidents or any bad news of relatives or friends nearly every time. But today even for the burials, sometimes we try to escape from attending and send a condolence message instead, thanks to various messaging technologies.

Also, rather than reinforcing relationship with real-life friends and relatives, nowadays people, especially juveniles, are being more prone to making virtual relationship with someone who they are very unlikely to meet with in their lifetime.

The effect of so much dependency on technology for making or maintaining relationship has dire consequences. It is making us and our upcoming generations more and more unsocial. Moreover, while interacting with a virtual person who I don't know very well, I am taking risk of being exposed or even being blackmailed since the proof of my interaction with my virtual friend through these channels are immutable most of the times.

Therefore, it is a dangerous consequence we are up to and if timely and proper measures were not taken, it might do greater damage to our future generations and the society.