Some parents think that helping their children with homework is good. Others think children should do their homework on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions about whether parents ought to help their children with their homework or not. While sometimes children should be helped when they have difficulty understanding certain lessons, I believe that they should be encouraged to do their homework on their own.

On the one hand, there are some instances when children really need parents’ help in their homework. Firstly, when students are unable to comprehend some difficult concepts profoundly, parents should help them to do their homework; consequently, that subject will not be a burden for them. Moreover, some students are introverts and hesitate to ask their doubts in their class. However, they are more comfortable asking anything to their parents. Hence, there is no harm in helping the students to better understand the concepts, as it would eliminate the elements that hamper their growth in studies.

On the other hand, I think that students should be motivated to complete their homework by themselves. First of all, when learners do their homework by putting in huge amount of effort and time, they tend to retain that for longer time span than the pupils who take others’ help in their work. Furthermore, the self-esteem of students get a boost) when they complete their homework on their own. For instance, child psychologists have revealed that pupils who do homework without support are more confident, creative and active in their class. Therefore, letting children learn on their own enhances their intellectual ability.

In conclusion, even though children sometimes benefit from parental support in the homework, I believe that parents should encourage their children to do on their own as it is pivotal for improving their cognitive abilities