Some people consider price as most important thing to consider when buying a product (such as a cell phone) or a service (e.g. medical treatment). Do you agree or disagree?

Price is one of the crucial parameters to consumers as well as producers. Few consider price to be a decisive factor while purchasing a product or a service and I agree to this thought. In this essay, I will discuss how usability of product effects the purchasing behavior and also touch upon where the price could be overlooked along with relevant examples to support the points.

There is ample evidence that purchasing of a product at specific price is dependent on multiple factors. If a customer believes the utility of a product does not justify the asking price, a cheaper product meeting all the requirements is preferred. To illustrate this, according to an Oxford research study, a mobile company which produces cell phones with similar features of a luxury brand albeit with inferior quality, commands a 10% higher market share due to its cheaper price. Therefore it is possible to state that utility of a product is important factor in pricing a product.

On the contrary, there are many instances where standard of service should precede the cost of it. Life changing decisions such as treatment for illness and vaccinations should not be price sensitive. The quality of treatment is directly proportional to efficient combat of disease or disorder. A recent vaccine for flu is a classic example for this. A medical firm who vaccinated citizens at a discounted price for flu, received many complaints of side effects from users. Thus it is possible to state that a compromise has to be made on price when seeking a better service.

In conclusion, although rates of services can be overlooked in some occurrences, more often than not consumers should be careful when paying a premium for a product or service depending on usefulness of it.