Some people do not mind to spend their leisure time with their colleagues while some people prefer to keep their private life separate from their work life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Working life and personal life both are completely disparate from each other. Some people enjoy their office life whereas others house life. While a few people do not have any problem spending their free time with office workers, others give preference to keep office and private life separated. This essay will discuss both these viewpoints and explain why precedence should be given to personal life.

To begin with, owing to the development of great understanding among employees, some people believe that the leisure time ought to be devoted to colleagues. In other words, this strengthens relationships and helps minimizing hesitation between workmates. Consequently, the employees’ confidence escalates and work productivity increases ultimately. It also aids employees’ retention at work. According to the recent statistics, more than ninety per cent people, in India, feel satisfied with their jobs when they meet their colleagues after office hours.

On the other hand, this approach has adverse effects on a family life of an individual. Staying all the time away from households creates rifts amongst them because they do not get an opportunity to discuss their problems. As a result, they feel unhappy and especially children feel deprived of love which causes sometimes marriage failure. According to the recent survey, conducted by BBC News, more than 80 per cent of people who spend their unoccupied time with other than family members fail to maintain their married life.

In summary, although work life is imperative, people must prioritize their families first. In my opinion, developing decent relationship could be possible by living in harmony with workmates in office and there may be no need to spend free post office hours with them. This is because working hours are already long enough to develop understanding. Personal life has its own importance that needs leisure time and might become unsuccessful if neglected. It is, therefore, recommended that people should give their unoccupied time to their households.