Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Marketing and advertising are vital parts of the commercial society. It is believed that advertisement encourages people to purchase unnecessary items while others say that they provide valuable information regarding the newest trends which in turn are beneficial to our lives. Personally, I am in the favor of the latter view.

There are certain plausible explanations as to why people think that advertising lures them into buying things they don't require. Firstly, the adverts are focused on the audiences those are easy to dupe for instance, young children. An attractive TV commercial showcasing a fancy toy will certainly attract many young viewers. Secondly, the banners and hoardings broadcasting a grand sale in a mall will definitely attract more individuals to buy things that are not necessary but cheap.

On the other hand, advertising may provide many benefits despite few downsides. To begin with, the advancement in technology makes a year old gadget obsolete. It is necessary to stay update with the latest technology available and this information can be passed on to the buyers with the help of an effective advertisement. Moreover, a consumer is always able to compare and contrast an item before its purchase by reading its brochure and making a smart buy. For example, if a person is interested in buying a Television he can compare different models on various advertising websites and make the selection according to his needs.

All in all, advertising may have some demerits but its merits cannot be overlooked. Clearly, they provide us with many useful information regarding the product we purchase and the individuals should be more judicious in the way of spending money rather than blaming on advertisements.