Some people think that having a set of retirement age(eg 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Many people opine that the stipulated retirement age of 65 years for all working age is unreasonable, they think it should be more flexible with exemptions for certain workers. I am in complete agreement with this opinion because people’s years of working differs, and some professions deserve to retire and receive pension at an earlier age due to its physical demanding nature. Notwithstanding, in this discourse, these and more will be explored, accordingly.

Undoubtedly, the main reason why I believe that a fixed retirement age is not actually best for everybody is because vast majority of employees have fewer active working years. This is because some people started their job probably at a very advanced age. Take for instance, my uncle, who started working at the age of thirty-eight years, as compared to his colleagues that has been employed since their twenties. Evidently, from the above, it is clear that having a set retirement age for all will not be practical.

Personally, I think that people working in a physically and psychologically stressful role ought to retire earlier because of the strenuous nature of their job. The justification for this argument might be because professions such as construction, military, and mining devote their entire career life and energy diligently performing their responsibilities on a regular basis, yet without embarking on annual leave. To illustrate, if workers are arbitrarily retired at this age, it would be seen as an unfair. Therefore, it is obvious that those employed in these demanding professions should be exempted from this late retirement age.

In conclusion, I reiterate that I totally believe that all workers retiring at a fixed age is not an ideal one, rather some kind of workers should be made to benefit by retiring and receiving entitlement at a younger age. This is because of the difference in each employee’s working years as well as stressful nature of some jobs. Given this situation, it means that the retirement policy should take these issues into consideration.