Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places ?

Where to visit on holidays has been a matter to conflict among people for many years. While some prefer to go on safe and easy-to-travel places to relax, others are fond of places with difficult conditions. Today more tourists are attracted to such places, which has its own benefits and disadvantages.

To begin with advantages, going to places with difficult conditions makes one a better person. First, it is believed that if one lives in a convenient place, like what is routine in these days modern life, he will eventually become weak and lazy. On the other hand, by going to places like the Antarctic, one can experience hard conditions, get out of the safe routine and even try hard to just survive. Thus, one can become a stronger person who is afraid of nothing, or in other words “ what doesn’t kill me makes me stronger”. Second, when one tries living in a difficult condition in which he has to endeavor for even a warm bowl of soup, he will gratitude the nice comfortable condition he has at home. Therefore, not only will he realize the value of what comes easy in modern life like the food or accommodation, but he will not waste them anymore. I personally believe a strong person who values everything is a better person than an ordinary weak nagging citizen. For instance, the movie “128 hours” , which is based on a real event, shows that how hard it is in a desert to survive and even find water, which in in comparison of what viewers usually live by.

Granted what was said, it must be taken into account that tourists of places like the Antarctic are the reason of pile load of money wasted every year. These places have difficult hazardous conditions in which there is a considerable risk of accidents and even death. Thus, governments are forced to attribute some of the budget, which can be used elsewhere, to save these tourists when they face imminent danger of death.

To sum up, even though the Antarctic or deserts have difficult conditions to live, they are visited by more tourists every year. These tourists try to become better people this way and simply do not care about the money which would be spent to save them.