• 18. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Communication is an inseparable part of human’s daily life. People are in relation to people every day, and there is no doubt that they can be influenced by other people. A question which can be raised in this regard is that who is the most effective on students behavior and their attitude. Some people believe that teachers are very influential for them, while others hold the opinion that they are more influenced by their friends. I subscribe to the latter opinion, and in the ensuing paragraphs, I will provide two reasons to illustrate my point of view.

To begin with, friends are the ones who keep the student’s company most of the time. Students spend a great deal of time with their friends, for example, they are with them in the classroom, or they go out with each other. It is clear that the more one allocates his or her time on someone or something, there is the more chance to get influence form them. But they only spend only a few hours with their teachers during the week. According to research, a person’s personality is the average the personality of five people they spend on with. My opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experience. I had a close friend when I was a high school student, who I met her every day and talked a lot with each other. She was a very kind girl and helped other students with their homework. Because I admired her so much, gradually I became like her and helped other students. Hence, it is clear that when students spend most of their time with someone, like their friends, they are influenced by them, and get their behavior and attitudes.

The second reason is that student trusts their friends so they take their advice or their opinions about different topics. Students choose their friends themselves, so they choose someone similar to them and have a lot in common, because of that they can trust their friends. As a result, when the student is struggling with making a decision, or they face with a bad situation, they listen to their friend’s advice since they trust their friends, they accept their advice. For instance, one of my friends told me about one of my behaviors, saying that it

In conclusion, considering both the reasons mentioned above, I believe that friends are the most influential persons in students’ lives. Because the students allocate most of their times with their friends, moreover, they trust in their friends, thus they accepted their advice about their behavior. Therefore, friends gradually can change students behavior and attitudes.