Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

A reoccurring standpoint states that today, because major changes happened in the world, people do not enjoy their lives like the past, and are less happy. While others believe people are more satisfied in today's modern world. I subscribe to the latter opinion, and in the ensuing paragraphs, I will provide two reasons to illustrate my point of view.

To begin with, nowadays, thanks to modern technology, people have more free time to spend on things that make them happy and more satisfied with their lives. First, people can save a great deal of time by traveling with new transportation vehicles such as trains or airplanes, and there is no need to waste a lot of time to do this. Instead, they can use this time to improve their skills, so such as, they can get promotion and earn more money which is an essential factor for leading a happy life. Also, for instance, my mother always wanted to learn how to play piano, but she has not enough time. However, after we bought a dishwasher machine, she has time to learn piano because she used to wash the dirty dishes with her hands, but now the machine does this work. Hence, it is clear that with emerging new technology in people’s lives, they have more opportunity to spend their time on what they like more, and it brings them a happy life.

The second reason is that people enjoy better health condition nowadays. In the past, because of the lack of sufficient medicine, people suffered or even died for the simple disease. However, science is very developed and people can get cured easily by just taking some medicine. Besides, people can raise their knowledge by searching on the internet or watching TV which informs people about a healthy diet, so there is less chance for a lot of people to get sick. From my experience, I would get sick very often, but now, I get informed about a healthy life through watching health program on the TV. Therefore, we can find out that in today’ world, people are healthier than before, and it leads to a happier life.

In conclusion, considering both the reasons mentioned above, I believe that today’s people have a happier life, owing to this fact that their life is more convenient, and they have more time to do what makes them happy. Furthermore, the health condition of people improved, so they do not suffer from different disease.