The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Recent years, there has been a drastic discussion about whether the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make new friends easily. From personal perspective, I strongly believe that the ability to make many new friends easily is more vital for happiness than the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time. My arguments are listed as follows.

First of all, being able to establish relationships with some new friends easily helps people to get job promotion. people with this ability tend to be easy-going and can take care of everyone's feelings. therefore, when they are at work, especially when they are doing group projects, they can greatly modulate working atmosphere, leading to a more pleasant working environment. thus, the work efficiency can also be improved. Under the background that group work tends to be globally popular, it is vital for companies to find employees who can engage in group activities well. So, employers will definitely want to hire or even empower people who could not only participate in group work, but also help improve overall efficiency. With more money and higher social status, people have more choices to relax themselves like traveling to different countries and appreciating beautiful landscapes, making people more pleasant.

Second, people who have the capacity of making a lot of new friends easily are more likely to expand their life experience. To be more specific, if people can make new friends easily, by chatting with those friends, people can know different cultures, different lifestyles and some interesting personal anecdotes, which could greatly broaden their outlook. thus, they are more likely to find the way they are most comfortable living with. However, as for people who have the capacity to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time, their field of vision tend to be limited. According to research, people tend to have deep friendships with the like-minded, which means the aspect of topic they discuss is confined. therefore, they have few opportunity to know other life experience, which means they themselves cut the possibility of finding more suitable lifestyles.

To sum up, the conclusion can be easily drawn that it is more essential for joy to have the ability of making lots of new friends easily than to have the ability of maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time.