The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friendship is a valuable possession of mankind, having few good old friends is very important to boost your mind during your tough times. However, making new friends is fun undeniably and is advantageous in certain aspects. Although it brings a controversial debate as to make many new friends easily than to have few bunch of friends for a long time. In my opinion, maintaining friendship with the small number of people over a long period of time is the righteous thing as the fruits of having such friendship is prodigiously vast, and hence I would like to throw some light in this notion.

First and foremost, friends make an inevitable part in one’s life by taking part hand in hand in all ups and downs. Having small number of good friends gives lot of courage even in times of stress or depression. For example, although we can have more than 1000 friends in social networking account, we can share our intimate thoughts and feelings reliably with only few of our close friends. Because it requires lot of trust and belief to share our secrets to someone which necessitates a long period of kinship. The trust will be built overtime in the friendship and cannot be shared with someone whom we know for few days. To add on, sharing personal stuffs with lot of friends may arise unwanted issues and it is better to restrict the circle to small number of people.

Moreover, only our close friends know us better and guide us in our hardships. They know our thoughts, strengths and weaknesses and guide us in the right path when we reach out to them. New friends, on contrary, may not know these details, and just throw their advice blindly. And also, maintaining a friendship for a long period of time with small number of people requires lot of confidence and trust on those people. These friends will certainly remain loyal for the lifetime. As per the phase, “the friend in need is a friend indeed” , having few loyal friends is more beneficial than having plethora of friends. When I had financial issues last year before getting my job, a very close childhood friend of mine supported me with some money which reduced my financial debts.

Admittedly, making new friends bring lot of contacts and information about new career, hobbies, entertainment, knowledge etc. When we enter a University or new work place, having lot of friends is incontrovertibly exciting as we can have lot of fun. Information about new job opportunities can be passed on through plenty of these contacts but the chances are very minimal. Moreover, our close friends cannot give inputs on all the fields and so we may have to seek advice from new people.

Hence from the aforementioned reasons, I would like to conclude that having few good friends who throw a helping hand promptly whenin need is more important than having plenty of namesake friends who exist just for fun.