Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the contemporary world, people are busy in their education and work which make them move away from family. There is a long standing debate on the importance of staying as an extended family, on which, some people argue that the importance has not faded away from the past. However, some may not support this opinion. I , strongly believe the fact that extended family is less valued these days than the past which I will explain in the ensuing paragraphs.

Living in the joint family system with the grand parents, cousins, aunts and uncles had been the system of the past. This inculcated a healthy lifestyle with each relationship acted as a support system in every aspect. Weighing the pros and cons of such system, people nowadays prefer nuclear family over the joint family system. The varied interests and choices in pursuing education and career demands people to move away from the home town to big cities.For instance, when I was small, my family moved apart from our extended family in search of a good job for my father in a big city. This also provided a plenty of opportunity to me and my sister to learn some extra curricular activities as well. We would not have received such facilities by staying with the extended family in the village. Many families like us prefer the nuclear family setup because of this.Moreover, staying with the extended family may cause conflicts among the family members while taking important decisions. This may further create a rage among the family members. People who have more pressure at their workplace, prefer to avoid such conflicts at home and they like to be more independent.

The growing cost of living makes it even more difficult to adjust among many members of the extended family set up. This urges the people to move away and provide the maximum comfort among the small family set up. The children also get pampered easily by their grand parents and uncles because of which many parents prefer to stay away from the joint family system.According to the research conducted by the sociology department of university of Utah,above 80 percent of the people expressed their desire to stay in nuclear set up because of the economical, personal reasons predominantly. However they expressed their desire to visit their extended family only on special occasions.

Admittedly, the extended family set up provided lot of support and benefits in the past. This enabled the family members to take care of their ancestral properties and business. Moreover, the kids learnt the moral values and discipline from the elders.

To sum up, due to the aforementioned reasons, I affirm that the extended family set up has slowly reduced its importance these days than in the past because of financial and psychological reasons.