Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History is the study of the past which describes the culture and tradition of a nation. Some may support the fact that history should be a part of university education and some may disagree this. However, I support the latter as learning history is not of any significance when an individual chose a different field of study in the university.

First of all, learning history apart from the major field of study may not be beneficial to the student. Imposing a subject which is not of an individual’s interest, merely is a waste of time and money. For example, I learnt history all through my school days as a part of social sciences. But later on I chose to study dental medicine for which I paid lot of attention in science subjects. Studying history is not beneficial for students who wish to pursue in health sector like mine.

Besides, learning an extra subject in university is of trivial importance when compared to the major field of study. Also, the student already may have taken huge loans for his higher education. Studying an additional subject may force the student to pay additional fee along with his regular tuition fees. Forcing the students to learn an additional subject may be compelling and irritating. Students may simply copy the assignments from others to finish their work. In this competitive world with lots of unemployment, overburdening the students with additional subjects may affect their interest in learning their subjects of interest.

In most of the nations, history is taught as a honor or pride of the nation. History teaches about the origin, the culture, the wars and the kings. Government has made it mandatory to learn history in schools to spread the pride of their country to students.

In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that learning an extra subject which is not of their field of study may not provoke any interest for the student and it is going to be an additional burden for them. History should be a part of the curriculum for school students and not for the university students as a vocational subject.