In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

In this competitive world with ever growing challenges in the work atmosphere, executing a work with utmost perfection is so vital to sustain the competition. There is always a debate as to whether perform a task quickly even though it invites some mistakes than to perform it slowly and perfectly. I however support the second notion due to the following reasons.

First of all, the growing competition in procuring a job demands highly skilled individuals. Only by executing a work slowly, some one can do it with perfection. This enables an individual to give importance to each and every detail of the work. nevertheless, if someone is always in a hurry to execute a task, he may miss out certain minute details and intricacies related with the job. As it is evident from the proverb,” Haste makes waste”. For example, if doctors perform their surgeries faster without being cautious about the vital organs, they can commit a lot of mistakes which can cost even the life of their patients and those mistakes are not reversible. So delivering the work with perfection is more important than the speed of execution.

Moreover, the mushrooming of corporate companies has increased the competition among them, which in turn has imposed tedious tasks and deadlines. This in turn has indirectly increased the work pressure among the employees as all these deadlines determine their appraisals and promotions. These employees often execute their tasks in a haste not worrying about their perfection. The fixture of these mistakes are often time-consuming and demands a huge cost. My friend who is a software engineer performed a task faster to finish before the deadline. While doing so, she did a mistake in running the code which in turn resulted in a program with an error for more than a week. A week later, when the problem was diagnosed, she and her team had to work continuously for a month to rectify the error and also to design a new code. This resulted in a wastage of huge sum of money.

Admittedly, working on a task faster can help us stand apart from our competitors. This can also assist us to perform more work than others. Such a fast performance can not only affect the quality of the job but also the health of the individual. The person may slowly lose his passion to do the task since the work becomes more chaotic.

To sum up, the slower execution of work is more important to do it without errors as performing the work perfectly at the first shot itself makes one successful. Hasty and imperfect work not only is a waste of time and money but also makes the individual unsuccessful.