After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Students have usually been equipped with basic knowledge and skills, like calculus and languages, after graduating from high school. Therefore, some people suggest that students should intentionally leave a gap between high school and the university. They can work or travel before entering a school again to find their directions and broaden their horizons. However, I don't regard the years between high school and the university as an essential period. The detailed reasons will be explored in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, what should be prioritized is that the knowledge and skills obtained from a high school education are unlikely to help you find a good occupation. It doesn't mean this knowledge is worthless. But everybody almost learns about the same things in high school. As a result of that, you are very replaceable in the employee market, making it hard for you to earn a desirable wage. On the contrary, you are going to learn expertise in the university, like programming and numerical analysis, which makes you meet specific requirements of some jobs with a high salary. Moreover, some people may consider that you need to make money for a university education by working for years. However, they may discard the fact that many universities provide students with study loans. Students can pay for loans by working in the school, which is a more stale environment.

Secondly, the university may be the best place to broaden your horizon. Professors in the university usually have broad knowledge as well as considerable experience. By taking their courses and communicating with them, your can obtain treasurable experience about the future besides expertise. What's more, you can meet excellent peers from different cultures speaking different languages. Knowing about the diverse cultures in the world and learning a second language will be an exciting experience. In addition, many universities provide students with the opportunity to travel abroad or democratic during the summer and winter vacation at a lower price compared to traveling individually before entering the university. You can save a lot of money in this way.

To conclude, I will not recommend people to take a gap for years between entering the university since almost all you want to obtain can be accessed in the university