Agree or Disagree? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that friends play a pivotal role in people's success through their life and career. Actually they have a profound impact on people's future, especially youngsters who spend most of their times with their friends. The ever-increasing prominence of friendship in the people's successfulness has aroused the longstanding controversy as to whether having the ability to maintaining a friendship is more important or the ability to make many friends easily. Although some people are amenable to the idea that the more friends someone has, the happier he is in the life, I resolutely possess the conviction the quality of friendship is more important than the quantity, and young people should learn to maintain their friendship. In the subsequent paragraphs, the most conspicuous reasons will vindicate my perspective.

First of all, it is significant to be mentioned that old friends are more reliable since people spend their time together and know about each other traits. Spending more time with them makes the rapport between two friends stronger, and as a result, they can rely on each other in the face of adversity. Take a personal experience as an example; when I had a midterm exam during high school, I didn't know how to study with the limited time that I had. Eventually, I asked two of my friends to help my learning the course. One of my friends that I have a deeper friendship with accepted my request and helped me to pass that course. But the other one, refuse my request since I hadn't a deep relationship with him. As a rule, maintaining friendships is closely correlated with someone's prosperity.

Another noteworthy point supporting my stance is that maintaining a friendship with someone can help us to gain new abilities which are necessary to become successful in life. Young people can learn about how to express their emotions or how to understand someone's emotions and try to sympathize with them. These abilities will be useful when people getting married or in their workplace. Results of a study conducted on a group of people aged 17 to 30, which I have recently read an article about, indicates that people who have a longstanding friendship with a limited number of people are more successful and happier in their marriage and life. This results may be attributed to the fact that maintaining a long friendship helps them learn about the ways of understanding people and how to cope with their special traits.

To recapitulate, considering the abovementioned reasons, one can effortlessly conclude that maintaining friendships with a limited number of people can benefit him in many ways and results in a happier life. It is highly recommended that youngsters should care about their relationships and try to maintain them.