Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.
There are certain considerations or factors that everyone takes into account in a
relationship. People may look for honesty, altruism, understanding, loyalty, being
thoughtful etc! Everyone would more or less wish that the person s/he is dealing
with, has some of these virtues above. Putting them in an order according to their
importance, however can be very subjective and relative.
When someone asks him/herself the question "What do I consider to be the
most important thing in my relationship?" the answer depends on a lot of factors
such as how his/her earlier relationships were.
After stating that everyone's opinion can be different about this, for me honesty,
in other words, always telling the truth is the most important consideration
in a relationship. Opposite of this is inarguably lying and if someone needs to lie,
either s/he is hiding something or is afraid of telling me something.
In any relationship of mine, I would wish that first of all, the person I'm dealing
with is honest. Even though s/he thinks that s/he did something wrong that I
wouldn't like, s/he'd better tell me the truth and not lie about it. Later on if I find out
about a lie or hear the truth from someone else, that'd be much more unpleasant. In
that case how can I ever believe or trust that person again? How can I ever believe
that this person has enough confidence in me to forgive him/her and carry on with
the relationship from there. So if I cannot trust a person anymore, if the person
doesn't think I can handle the truth, there's no point to continuing that relationship.
Although I would like to see altruistic, understanding, thoughtful and loyal
behavior from people, an instance of_ the opposite of these behaviors would not
upset me as much as dishonesty would. Among all the possible behaviors, dishonesty
is the only one for me that terminates how I feel about a person's reliability.
Therefore honesty would be my first concern and the most important consideration
in a relationship.