A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory.

Building of a new factory can have positive and negative effects on the community. It can pollute environment and create traffic problems. At the same time, it can economically benefit the town. If a company decides to build a factory in my community, I would support the idea. There are a few reasons why I feel this way.

First of all, new work places for community members could be created. Factory is a enormous entity, which needs a myriad of workers. People, who live in the town, can satisfied this demand. Moreover, some persons, who work far from the place they live, can save money on gas if they switch the job, and start working on the factory. My own experience illustrates it very well. I recall, that when I was a student, I had to work to support myself. At the time, the only job I could find was almost one hour driving from my house. Significant part of my salary I spend on gas. To that end, if my community had a factory nearby, I would have a chance to decrease my spending tremendously.

Secondly, opening of the factory is likely to bring other businesses to the town. Workers need to eat during their breaks. This way, new restaurants and grocery stores could be open in the town. Again, it would engender even more work places to the community members, and give an opportunity to local farmers to submit their products to the stores. For instance, recently, when a new shopping mall was built in my home town, scores of fast food restaurants were opened next to the mall. Therefore, employees of the mall had places to get food, and a lot of people find a job. To that point, my niece was working in one of the restaurants during her summer break. So, building of the factory could contribute to the development of the town.

To sum this up, I feel that building of the factory is advantageous for the community. This is because, it creates a variety of work places and helps to evolve the town. All things considered, it is reasonable to assume that factory will benefit the community.