Do you agree or disagree?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Nowadays, as the technology advances and the society develops, how people think of friends varies. Some voice that making friends with a lot of people brings more happiness than keeping old friendship in the various and high-speed society. Nevertheless, if we take a deeper consideration, it would not be hard to come to the conclusion that maintaining good relationship with old friends has more advantages.

To start with, it is more relaxed to stay with long-time friends. Since people usually wish to leave a great impression on strangers who they want to make friends with. Sometimes they feel uncomfortable about the behavior that they have to show to satisfy the new friends. Imagine that a smoker try to hide his addict form his new friends, which makes him extremely uncomfortable. However, when he stays with the old ones, this would never happen. Because it is of no need hiding ourselves from long-time friends who nearly know everything about us, including the backwards. Therefore, compared to the new ones, old friends will never make us feel nervous at all.

Besides, making new friends takes massive time, even bringing much pressure, which does great harm to gaining happiness. When people intend to spend time on making many new friends, they need to occupy the time for entertainment and relaxation. In addition, people will feel under much pressure to satisfy these new friends. Like my friend Mike, who is expertise in making friends. Though having so many friends, he feel annoyed and despondent now and then. Because socializing occupies nearly all the spare time, leaving no time for him own. In this situation, he feels pressured more than happy. As a consequence, staying with old friends brings more happiness.

Last but not least, I am not denying that new friends make us feel refreshed. However, the issues above seem to be minor factors in comparison with the contradictions that making new friends may cause. Different people hold different opinions on the same issue, especially new friends. Confronted with such condition, people can not help comparing the new ones friends with the old ones and come to the conclusion that old friends are the ones who know us better.

In a nutshell, old friends are those who know us well. Staying with them will bring less pressure and contradiction, more relaxation and private time at the same time. Therefore, maintaining friendships with people for long time is better for happiness.