Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

In this sophisticated world that we live in, friendships play an important role in every human beings' life because humans are social creatures and need to have some friends. there is a controversial argument among people who believe that it is better to have a long relationship with clique than have a huge number of people as friends. I am of the opinion that it is correct. it remains to elaborate some merits of this perspective in detail.

First and foremost, old friends are more reliable. being in the trenches, people try to find a person to ask some help from his or her. If people do not know each other well, they will not rely on each other. For example, when I have attended Tehran University, I found many new friends in there. One day, I encountered some financial problems and asked them to lend me some money but, none of them did this. Strange although it may seem, I asked an old friend not have seen for a long period of time and he lent me some money. Hence, when people have some old friends, they do not become despondent when they face problems and they can rely on old friends forever.

Added to this, old friends know each other better. having in common hobbies, interests or even impetus, human beings consume their times happily with each other. there is no need to spend lots of time to understand each other. For instance, I had a birthday party when I was 20 years old. I invited some of my old friends alongside some of my new friends to that party. my old friends brought me better gifts because they had known my favorites while others brought some not impertinent gifts.

having mentioned two benefits of keeping old friends, I can draw the conclusion that old friendships make our life happier than a huge number of short term friendships. it is imperative that humans maintain their old friendships instead of making a lot of superficial relations with new people.