Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many things can improve our happiness while one of them would be our friends' role in our lives. Many people believe that the capability to sustain friendships with a few people for a long time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends quickly. However, I subscribe to the opposite view, and I substantiate my belief by providing some supportive reasons that are elucidated below.

It is worth bearing in mind that from a psychological viewpoint, communicating with different people can improve our happiness significantly. In fact, most people are gregarious, and they need to communicate with several people at different locations; otherwise, they might easily get depressed. It has been proven that people should have the ability to make new friends to strengthen their happiness since our close friends are not always near us. By way of illustration, consider a student who has some close friends at school. This student will work out of school soon or later; as a result, he/she might not meet his/her close friends frequently. In this situation, if he/she cannot make new friends, he/she might get depressed quickly.

Furthermore, people by communicating with different people and by making new friends can learn many things from them, and learning new abilities can significantly improve people's happiness. For example, I have some close friends, but none of them knows how to draw a portrait, and I am really interested in this skill. On the other hand, there are lots of people around me who know how to draw a portrait using different techniques. Since I would like to learn this skill, it would be necessary for me to communicate and become friends with them. Hence, it would be favorable for people to make some new friends and learn different things from them, which can considerably improve their happiness.

The sum and substance of this essay is that we should have the ability to make some new friends because communicating with different people can improve our happiness. Besides, by making new friends, we can learn various things from them which would strengthen our happiness rapidly.