Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Socializing is an important aspect of human lives. Typically, we spend a lot of time with our group friends, whether big or small. Some people believe that having a smaller number of friends is better than making friends with a lot of people, especially in the long time. I, however, think that both of these could bring people joy and happiness. I will discuss my reasons below. Having a small group of friends can give you a chance to spend more time with them, get to know them deeply and understand them and their problems more easily and bond with them so deeply that they could become part of your family. People who can understand your humor, comprehend your problems and can stand by you in the hardships. Knowing that you have someone to turn to no matter what can give you a sense of protection and consequently, happiness. For example, I have two friends whom I befriended with 14 years ago. They have been there for me in hardships and happiness of my life and so was I, I hope. Even though I am living thousands of kilometers away from them, I have kept my close relationship with them and even speaking to them can make me happy.

On the other hand, having only a limited number of friends can limit some of your life experiences. The ability to make friends easily can also provide you joy and satisfaction. Having lived in a multi-cultural environment in the past few years taught me that the broader the number of your friends, the higher the possibility of being exposed to different cultures, different ideas, and different visions and expectations. This can also improve your wisdom, which consequently can bring you happiness.

To conclude, I believe that it is a wise idea to have a small group of longterm friends, but this should not be the limit for building a friendship with other people, as, they both equally can bring joy and happiness in one's life.