Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specifi Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

it is vital for each and every person to know about the history of their country and the world. Some people think that history should be taught to all university students regardless of their major. However, I strongly disagree with that due to a number of reasons which will be discussed below.

Students usually attend university with an intention of persuing certain subject. They choose these subjects based on their passion, talent or their need. What they expect to do in the university is becoming master in those subjects and improve the skills which help them land a better future for themselves. To do so, the students should put a lot of effort. This process is usually takes most of the time and energy from the students. So, forcing them to take history courses would be distractive for them, especially if it requires a lot of their time. For example, in Iran we were forced to pass several history-related courses in college; what we did in these classes was doing home works of other courses and at the end of the semester, the level of our knowledge in history did not change at all. Plus, Normally we lean a lot about history in high school, so doing it in university is just overdoing.

Also studies have shown that forcing people to do something, is actually counter productive. Pushing people to do something which they are not interested to do makes them discouraged and they usually end up hating it. So instead of having more knowledge about history, students would end of never wanting learning or hearing anything about it at all.

Thirdly, history can be taught in more practical and fun ways. For example a historical theater could be performmed in the amphitheater of the university for free. That way the students can both have fun and learn thing at the same time.

All in all, as necessary as it is for all of us to be aware about the history I believe that university is not a right place for teaching it . Especially since the university students are too busy with their own courses.