Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays people can use various methods for communication while doing a project. These methods include face to face conversations, emailing or using tools like Skype. However, the impact of each of these methods on the final delivery of the projects is a point of discussion. Some people believe that in person communication is more effective, but I think that is not always the case.

The face to face communication gives the group-mates and colleagues a chance to each express their ideas, explain them clearly and in some cases justify them. They could also hear clearly other people feedbacks. During these in person communications, the group can make critical and appropriate decisions more accuratly and more rapidly. Also, if some of the team members is facing an issue, it could be discussed and solved rapidly. However, these meeting can be truly time-consuming and they can spoil most of the members concentration and working time and also might not be effective in case of absence of some team members.

On the other hand, matters can be discussed via Email between team members. By using emails, matters can be discussed fastly. The Email could be addressed to the related people, no matter where they are, and so other people of the team would not be distracted by the email beeps and the extra information that may get in the face to face meetings. However, it is not easy to explain all details and aspects in the email as it may get too long and sometimes unclear to understand.

Using both emails and face to face communications can have both good and bad effects on the outcome of the team project. However, I believe that the most effective way of communication in group works, could be a mix of both: Face to face meeting in certain milestones or in case of emergencies and Emails for the potential minor problems.