Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

In sophisticated today's world, having a good friendship has countless merits which makes sense of satisfaction for people. Some people think to preserve old harmony is more important than making new friends. However, others, standing on the other side of the continuum, believe that making new friends provide more happiness for someone. I, personally, concur with the former group, for a couple of reason that I will elaborate on which upon hereunder.

To begin with, when people are friends for a long time, they will be more than an ordinary friend and turn into each other's family member. People who are friends for several years have spent a lot of time with each other, and have many mutual experiences. Therefore, their relationship will strengthen gradually, and as a result, they cannot be apathetic about each other's life. To be more specific, they care about their old friend's problems and try to pave the way for him or her. A personal example can drive this notion home. Last year I lost my job, and I was in a bad financial situation. Since I had to pay an enormous number of bills, I was upset with my life condition. That time I ask financial help from some of my friends. My new friends owing to a lack of trust in our friendship ignored my request, and only my oldest friend helped me in those rainy days. She paid for all the bills and made my tension relieved. Had not had I an old friend, I would have bought my home to pay my debts. Therefore, people can count on their former friends rather than new friends in their difficulties.

Second, people who are friends for years due to a considerable amount of time which they had spent in tandem can help each other intellectual help in a better way. They know each other's characteristics and personalities exactly. Therefore, they have a more reliable and rational recommendation in different situation for each other. To make it clear, when someone wants to choose a career or wants to launch an emotional relationship, he can give useful advice and recommendations from old friends. Because they know he can tolerate the given job or can get along with a particular person. For instance, one of my old friends wanted to get married to another friend. I strongly disagreed with that decision because I knew both of them for years. I told with my friends and tried to prevent him from this marriage while his new friends did not tell him anything. Soon after this marriage, my friend got a divorce, and he was surprised that I knew him even better than himself. So, I think old friends are valuable in people's lives because they can help in making important decisions.

All in all, with two mentioned reasons into account, I do believe that having old friends make more happiness for people. In this situation, old friends do not only help each other in harsh conditions, but they also have a rational recommendation for each other owing to the perfect understanding of personalities.