Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

It is widely acknowledged that friends play a very key role in every person's life. Therefore, it is significant for one to maintain this friendship until the very end. In this case, some might hold the view that owning such friendship with a small group of people, while it is long lasting, is actually much better than having many friendly relationships with a huge group of people. Personally, I contend that the smaller the group of friends is, the steadier their relationship definitely is. Hereinafter, by alluding to three prominent reasons, I will shed light on my own perspective.

The first noteworthy point regarding the issue is that having less people containing the group of friends brings about a special trust among friends, for not only will they feel better about sympathizing with each other about their problems, but also it will be much easier for them to talk about these problems with one another. For example, back in high school, I used to be part of such small group which was consisted of three people including myself. When I was spending my time with my other two friends, I used to feel like that it was my second home, for not only was our group comprised of few people where I could talk about my problems much easier there, but also it was an opportunity given to us in order to learn how to trust one another; therefore, our group was strong enough to maintain until now.

The other axiomatic point is that a short group actually gives the members a better chance in order to interact with one another. As said in the last paragraph, it would definitely result in a more appropriate place for the members to sympathize and speak about their problems to one another. To exemplify my very own experience at high school again, since my group of friends was short, it gave us the opportunity to talk to each other about the things that were not easy to talk about with any other friend or our family members, for it was included of sufficient people that provided us a type of special trust in order to speak straightforward with one another. Thus, this made our friendship to last until the current moment.

The other significant point regarding the issue is that the shorter the number of the members is, the better the members can be able to meet and spend their time with one another, for it could be much easier for them to remember each other. To allude to my group of friends in high school again, since our group was not consisted of too many people, it gave us the opportunity to meet almost every day. For instance, we used to hang out in different places, and even it gave us the chance to study with one another without losing our focus on our studies. Thus, we somehow learned how to work as a team with one another.

To make a long story short, smaller groups bring about a particular trust among friends, for the number of the people comprising that group is short, and therefore, gives the members the opportunity to sympathize with one another. Furthermore, it results in better interactions while every member is certain that they can trust the other member.