Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Regarding the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more significant that making many friends, I am strongly inclined to take the side of this expression. Being of the most proliferated social subject in all relationship, the duration of friendship plays a critical role to reinforce the emotional feeling among friend. To elaborate more on the topic mentioned, the following reasons and examples will be presented.

First and foremost, the trust can be attributed to the profound characteristic of any friendship. It is obvious this feature can be implied as the core factor in the social relationship and catalysis the intimate of the friendship. For instance, people in some hard conditions tend to find the trustful person who can share some matters with them. Without trust, the people are not capable enough to establish the emotional connection. Considering the trust formation, there is a causal relationship between the period of friendship on the one hand, and the breadth of mutual trust on the other hand. As a result, by maintaining friendship over a long period, the high level of trust can be anticipated.

Another primary reason can be attributed to the strengthen of confidence in the long period friendship. Due to the harsh condition of the society such as experience of more stress, economic problem and marital difficulties, the necessity of the confidence become crystal clear. It goes without saying every one has tendency to confide the person who is known during the long time. Thus, in this case, the period of friendship plays a crucial role. It is also worth noting that long period friendship makes the high potential of upholding in critical situations.

Taking all of these perspectives into account, I cannot agree more about the preference of maintaining friendship for a long period regarding the better establishment of the trust, strengthening the confidence and the high potential of upholding in critical situations. Although, making many friends easily can be attributed the social and affable personality of a person, To my best knowledge, the advantages of retaining the a few friends categorically outweigh the disadvantages of having many temporary friends.