Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to friendship, there will always be a myriad of problems to be encountered. Whether maintaining relationships with old friends is more important than making new friends is inevitably an issue for everyone. After deliberating such an issue, I believe that the ability to make new friends easily will benefit us more.

First of all, the capability to make friends with people allows us to learn from each friend's traits. In other words, through chatting and knowing each other, sensing people's advantages can help up to compensate for our shortcomings. Besides, people with lots of friends tend to have the ability to deal with each kind of personality, which makes it rather easy for those people to succeed in their career.

Secondly, since our world has developed rapidly, the possibilities to encounter difficulties have risen at an unprecedented rate. To deal with this, the help of our friends can come in handy. When we are traveling alone in a foreign country, it is possible to meet any kind of problem. Fortunately, if we have friends nearby, then the problem may be solved fast and easily. Or else, we might be lost and helpless without knowing what to do.

Last but not least, having the ability to make a great number of friends can also lead us to a more satisfying life. This is because we will have friends with all kinds of hobbies and interests to join with. People who have a wide variety of interests tend to participate in events and activities in different fields. So, with those friends, we can easily find someone to company with. On the contrary, without those friends, we might have to do things lonely and being bored.

All in all, given the reasons above, the ability to make new friends easily is an indispensable trait in modern society. This allows us to solve our problems faster and easier. That is not to say that other opinions are out of merits. Nevertheless, I believe my points of view provided above are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.