Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world, where we live having friendships with other people is the most important factor of happiness. There has been a controversial debate among people being old and young as to whether making many friends is more beneficial than making fewer friend in a long time. As far as I am concerned, having some long-term friendship with small number of people is helpful, and two reasons to support my view point are presented as follows.

To begin with, making tong-term friend, individuals will be more likely to feel comfortable and enjoy the living. It is not a secret to anyone that its humans nature to communicate with their counterparts and maybe make a close friendship with some of them. Although everybody is interested in communicating all the time, they do not prefer to be close with all of them since different people have different personalities and point of views, which means humans definitely cannot have good relations with all people they meet. Making more and more friend s, we will put our mental health in danger since we are not be able to share our feelings with them; we are afraid of being judged because there was not enough time to get to know these kinds of friends completely. To put it in more vivid picture, when I was in high school, I made five friends immediately in a short time and they have their own especial way of thinking, beliefs, and behaviors. Since I did not adequate time to be familiar with their actual character, i did not realized that two of them are my enemies and they did not want me to be successful in my studies, which made me so upset. Had I devoted more time to make good friends and fewer ones, I would not have felt frustrated.

Furthermore, having intimate friends, who are being known for a long time, is the best blessing since we can share feelings. It is crystal clear that first impression is not reliable and we should know other in a long time because in this way we are able to start talking about different subjects and being informed of the attitudes and desires of our friends. by the passage of time we will share the most important issues like emotions which helps us to get the advantage of a good friends and get rid of all stress and anxieties since they are a mutual trust between us. No longer will we consider our friends as strange individuals, we will see them as our family, which is one of the biggest boon in everyone's life.

In sum, not only will we be able to feel better about ourselves, we will also are able to share feelings.