Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friend is an critical important role in one's life. Some people think making many new friends easily can bring more happiness to their life. However, in my opinion, I claim that having the ability to maintain friendships with a small group of people over a long time can have more positive effects in my life. I feel this way by having two main reasons which I will explore in my following essay.

First of all, people who are familiar with you might bring more happiness than the friends that just meet for a short period. To be more specific, old friends know everythings about your personalities and the past, they know what they have done might make you be happier. My experience is a best illustration of this. I have a friend, Judy, we know each other over ten years. Although we got into different university, we still maintain our relation by the internet. Last month, I didn't do well on my final exams and I were extremely depressed at that time. Everyone in my class kept telling me that failed on final exam was not a big deal which could not make me felt better at all. However, Judy knew about my situation and she called me right away. She didn't tell me about the stuff related to my final exam, but rather just said about the best memory we made when we went to foreign country together. This talk truely made me feeling more deligtful.

Secondly, people who knows each other for a long time will have more similar habits. Doing the acitvities together can bring more joyful to their relationship. For example, my mom loves to make cookies and cakes during her leisure time, so she has a group of friends who know each other for over 30 years. All of them share the same habit, baking. They often come to our home to bake some cakes and snacks, during that time they always have big smile on their face. On the other hand, if people just keep making new friends rather than maintain the friendships, they might not have the chance to do some activities with friends or even don't know about his/her new friends’ habits.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the ability to maintain friendships with friends is more important for happiness than making new friends. This is because they not only are more familiar with you, but also can share same habits with you. Both of this could bring lots of joyful to one's life.