Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The practice of taking "gap years" have significantly gained popularity among high school graduates in the recent years. Students take a year off before going to college to travel or work. Although, some might argue that taking "gap years" have adverse effects on young graduates because they might form bad habits or forget some of their skills, some think it has several advantages. In my opinion, students should be encouraged to take one year off after high school graduation due to the following reasons.

First of all, schools are changing into more diverse environments. Students from all around the world come to schools in other countries to explore the culture and in search of new opportunities. For the students who have grown up in rural areas with little racially or culturally diverse environment, it is better if they get familiar with this condition by traveling to a new country. This can help in adapting to a diverse environemnt before going to college where one should only concentrate on their studies rather than trying to get used to living with foreigners.

In addition to that, students can take a year off to work and earn some money. Universities are getting more expensive each year. They have increased the tuition fees and dorm rents in the recent years because more people are interested in higher educations. Thus, if a student has the opportunity to earn and save some money for the university years, this will both make the experience more pleasant and help their parents who mainly pay for their expenses.

Lastly, students can use this period to do internships and gain experience. When students choose their majors, they do not normally have a good idea about the challenges and requirements of that major. Thus, doing internships in those fields can help them decide whether they really like the profession. In addition to that, they can get an idea about the required skills for their major, so they can use the college years to work on them.

In conclusion, taking a gap year has several advantages for the students such as getting familiar with diverse environemnts, saving money, and doing internships in the field of their future major. But, students should consider the disadvantages that it might have, such as forming bad habits or forgetting their acquired skills. If they do not use this time to work, travel or do internships, they might start hanging out with wrong people or wasting time on unncessary activities. They should also study their lessons to stay fresh on subjects. If students can manage it, it will be a lucrative experience.