Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans have a long history of learning from past mistakes; without knowledge of these mistakes, mankind is prone to repeat mistakes. Therefore, learning history should be a priority in our education, and all university students should have history courses as a requirement regardless of their field of study. By doing so, not only will the student be benefited, the society will also gain from it.

Newton said that he only became a great figure because he stood on the shoulders of a giant. History, can be a giant upon which we could stand. Consider a student studying economics. After the student learned about how the hassle of finding the right person to trade goods with was eliminated after using currency as a means of trade, that student will no longer dwell in the thought that it may be good discontinue the use of currency, history has proven its effectiveness. With this historical knowledge, the student can therefore focus more on how to improve the current currency system instead of investing valuable time on another obsolete idea.

Widespread knowledge of history can also greatly benefit the society. During the Second World War, Hitler murdered numerous innocent people, a mistake that the world does not want anyone to repeat. And to avoid this very mistake, the widespread knowledge of this incident is vital. Without it, a student could be lead to a similar erroneous thinking and eventually initiate a similar tragedy.

Despite the aforementioned benefits of learning history, some may argue that learning history is not beneficial to unrelated fields, such as science. However, is history actually unrelated to these fields? In fact, every field of study has a history, and studying the history of the field is often the key to success in that field. For example, physicists must learn about the development of previous models of atoms in order to be inspired to create a even better model. Therefore, history in specific fields can be quite useful in various fields.

In conclusion, one can clearly identify that history is crucial both to the individual and society. Making it a requirement in universities will certainly bring many beneficial effects to this world.