Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at people attitude toward history brings to the light a question that has provoked the debate several times, namely, whether history courses are required for students or not. Some may think that history is not part of necessary science that a person encounters in work environment, while others believes that we need those information in our real life. In my opinion, although it seems useless to take humanities courses such as history, they are substantial in understanding the world and better life experience.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that human repeat the faults and errors of past people. It is inevitable to make mistakes when we are growing, but at least after studying the history, we see the positive and negative consequences of our decisions to change our behaviors. For example, looking at world wars shows us how dangerous it is to be brutal and even one small country's situation can affect other universe. Therefore, it is vital to ponder about what happened for ancient people.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that it gives us a good perspective about the process of technology. For example, if a medical student studies medicinal sciences, he must know how others assist for development or what doctors did to cure the diseases when there was no antibiotics. This perspective prepares them to dedicate more time to their major and pay their part to future. Since they know that the information they have today is from others' attempts, then they try to contribute more and add something valuable to technology. Hence, history is substantial to motivate student to move forward.

Admittedly, it is really hard to study courses that are off-topics. When a person minds is ready to grasp mathematics, it is difficult to convince him read long historical textbooks. However, after sometimes, his brain will be prepared to use other parts and enjoy it. My husband is a graduate student at Georgia Tech University. Although his major is computer sciences, his research is related to biology so he had to take a course, biology history. The first three weeks, he complained that the subject is boring, but after a while he found special areas which helped him to increase his research ability.

Due to aforementioned argument explored in previous statements, I strongly recommend the universities to have some required history courseworks.