Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People may be buried in deep thought when they initially see the point that all university should be required to take history courses. Some people argue that it is necessary for the students no matter what their field study is to learn history courses. However, others believe that you cannot ask all the students to learn the course that they are not interested in. I, personally, incline to the former opinion. There are some reasons can back up.

To begin with, as an old Chinese saying goes, one can be a man with a good standing by learning history. Leaning is the major work for students without any doubt. Granted, it is important for university students to master the skill and absorb knowledge which particularly beneficial for their career and help them to find a decent job after graduation, but it is equally essential for the students to learn history courses as to how to be a man who can be a constructive resource for the society and his country. In this sense, learning history courses will shape their mind, in a more general way, to know what kind of man should be as being considered a small part of the world.

Second, History courses can help students to know more about the identity of him or herself, along with how to understand the relationship between the individual and the country and whether we should love our country or not. Developing a sense of patriotism is quite necessary for university students. After graduation, most of them will go to the society to work, to serve the country. With knowing the history of the country or the world, it is more clear for students to decide what kind of work they should do. For instance, Jim, one of my friend, was majoring in mathematics, who determined to be a English translator. Because after learning the history, he realized that many western media have been reporting the fake news to despise China for a long time, which let many worldwide people have a wrong view of China. Consequently, he decided to put real news of China in English on the website for letting the foreigners know what is the truth.

Third, students can improve the analytical thinking by taking history courses as history not only includes what and when of historical events but also why and how. For example, in history courses, we can know the reasons behind some big historical events, such as World war I and II. Except for the process of the war, the most important is the profit relations between of America and Japan and the change of attitude of those victorious western nations such as the UK and the USA to Soviet after the world war II. Thus, you will not buy those propaganda and so-called values as those countries selling to the whole world. Being thinking independently is also the ability for students in university.

To sum up, the world has become quite different now, many people can be confused and lost their direction up to their life destination. History, a discipline that has a transferable ability, benefits other fields of study. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement that all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.