Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, happiness is one the most sought after mental states which everyone constantly looking for. Although the world is transmitting and changing so quickly, I strongly believe people are happier nowadays. I feel this way because of two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the modern world has provided lots of new technologies and amenities for people to experience more satisfied lives. To be specific, the scientific and technologic revolution have been constanly changing the world and creating new facilities for contemporary human kind. Many communication technologies and accelerated transports have painted a sparkly different picture of the world, comparing with ancient lifestyles, in which many people can easily communicate with each other around the world. The easy access to communication through internet and accelerated trasports can potentionally bring about happiness. My own experience is a compelling example of this principle. When I left my home to a another country to study abroad, my greatest concern was my family, specially my mother, whom I adore. However, fortunately I had access to internet and new video call tools and mobile applications simplified the access to family. Had not the technology invented the new facilities, I would have been more anxious and depressed during education.

Secondly, this modern world has invented new methods of treatment and many diseases have been eradicated since the dawn of modern medicine. It is obvious that happiness is merged with health. The healthier an individual can live, the more satisfied he or she may grow up. Many recent medical and psychiatric observations are a great evidence of this idea; the idea of emergence of happy life in healthy body. These recent medical results shows that there is a strong correlation between ill patients suffering from different diseases and prevalence of mental illnesses; like anxiety disorder or unstable mood disorders. As a result modern medicine can reduce the risk of numerous types of diseases which consequently reduces the risk of mental disorders; therefore, nowadays people can be more happy by means of new medical methods and treatments.

In conclusion, according to reasons, examples, and evidence mentioned above I am of the opinion that in the current new world people can experience a happier life. The modern world has enhanced the communication tools and medical treatments which both can elevate the quality of life.