Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities are nowadays deemed to play a crucial role in treating people and training professionals for their future social lives. Personally, I agree that sports and social activities are as important as academic activities and universities should pay enough attention. I believe in this way because of two main reasons which I will explore in the following passage.

First of all, social activities like journalism and group activities on campus provide connections for students and the connections would be very useful in different levels and stages of their life. The students can develop their social networks within social and even political activities besides passing routine scheduled academic courses. On the other hand, the more social interaction students develope in academic life the more possibility of future achievements they will have. My experience is a good example of this principle. When I was in the undergraduate academic state I have no social interaction unless the usual classes and doing merely assignments and attending the classes. However, one of my friends has a lot of social relationships and different activities in his campus life. Subsequently, he accepted soon for a job position that was introduced from one of his colleagues in the university journal since one of the professors recommended him for the job position.

Secondly, the sport and physical activity help a student to have a better mental and therefore educational activity during attending in university. As much scientific evidences have revealed the conection and correlation of healthy body and healthy mind, we understand the importance of sports in a student function. One of my friends is a very good sample for the mentione statement. From the beginig of the university he started smoking and high alcohol consumption. A trend that ought to make a catastrophic misfortune for him. Surprisingly, however, he started swimming and gradually he abandoned the cigarette smoking for better performance in the swimming championship in which he won a Bronze medal. Gradually, he stopped the alcohol consumption as well and he could finally graduated from the school just with semester delay comparing with his classmates. Had he not started sports, he wouldn't be a good graduated athlete.

In conclusion, I substitute the idea that sports and social activities are important as well as the educational aspect of academic life. The social activities and sports help students in their future job moreover, these factors help the mental health and cognitive performance of a student within the university.