Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History of mankind reveals stories of human beings living together as one family. Initially there was lack of houses and humans spent time together in caves and forest trees. As time progressed, he built houses and accommodated everyone possible. The misunderstandings and fights of men and women mostly led them to lead a worse life causing differences of opinions. thus, I concur with the fact that the extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past for the reasons provided in the essay below.

Divisions occurred because of man formulating certain rules and regulations. As a result of this, women after marriage moved on to live with her husband and in-laws. hence, the family comprised of the lady together with her partner’s family consisting of his parents, grandparents and siblings. With the advent of technology and women going to work, the problem of ego arises in every individuals mind and hence the extended family is split into a family with fewer members.

Furthermore, it can be noticed that a greater number of women today are working professionals and hence demand equal rights from their husbands and in-laws. she is not able to concentrate on the house-hold chores and thus not able to satisfy the needs of the house that she has moved into. The older generation find it difficult to digest such motives which in turn lead to conflicts. For example, men take rest after coming from office whereas a lady is expected to take care of others and cooking food for them. As she is also tired, this causes stress for her in turn affecting the whole family. As a solution to this problem, the couples find a different house and live separately.

Moreover, technological advancements have further increased the distance between relatives. For example, in early days, social gatherings and get togethers were common. But nowadays, people are very busy to find time that they just opt for video chats rather than meeting a person face to face. Elderly people are considered as a burden and hence they are made to go to old age centers. Similarly, problems faced by uncles and aunties are not interfered since they are treated as a different family. With a tightly packed schedule, no body finds time even to greet or help others.

For the above-mentioned reasons, I agree to the statement. The joy of sharing food, fond memories and togetherness eventually diminished and the value of a human got reduced due to their pride and anger resulting in the joint families to separate into nuclear ones.