Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

To begin with, being aware of many academic subjects helps us communicate with more people and improves communication skills. People who want to have a broad knowledge of various subjects have to communicate with more academic persons for sharing ideas and discussing subjects, and it gives them a chance for enhancing communication skills. For example, when my cousin was a freshman on campus, he was an isolated boy, who had no friends, but when he started to study in different fields and got more information. Then, he had to communicate with more people and had more opportunities for speaking with others. So, his communication skills were enhanced. Had he not have information in many subjects, he can not have enhanced his own communication skills.

Secondly, thanks to awareness about different subjects, people have more chances of finding jobs. Today, most of the companies and firms are searching for staff who have knowledge about broad areas and they can work rather than two staff because most workplaces are small and they do not have enough space for a lot of employees. Then, for getting more job opportunities, it is necessary that we have vast knowledge in different fields. To put in a more vivid picture, a friend of mine simultaneously studied in two fields, physics and computer engineering. When he was graduated, he saw a job opportunity on the internet that needed a person who had information on physics and computers. Then, he applied for this job and now he is a successful person among his peers.