Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (liked by students) and effective in helping students in learning.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that teachers play a consequential role not only in students' lives but also in any given society owing to the fact that they provide fertile ground for both students and the society to flourish day in day out. Various points of view which are germane to the matter being discussed brings us to the moot question as to whether being effective in learning and liked by students at the same time is difficult for teachers. However, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that although it might be difficult for teachers to be liked by students and effective in learning, they should bend over backward to help students learn thoroughly and become a self-sufficient person in their future lives. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal viewpoint.

To commence with, there is no doubt that students and teachers are pillars of every given society and their presence guarantees the success of any society. Indeed, hardly can the society make a progress without teachers and its students. Broadly speaking, although it is important for teachers to be liked by everyone especially students, try to be useful and helpful in learning is of utmost importance when it comes to teachers' effectiveness. As a tangible example, students are not mature enough to cope with various phenomena and they might run into a huge problem. So, not only can a teacher provide an opportunity for students to face trials and tribulations but also can help students learn deeply and meticulously. To elucidate more on this issue, being a popular teacher might not be helpful enough for students owing to the fact that students need to be learned and more learning not only can improve knowledge but also can develop self-esteem and self-confident.

Another salient point in corroborating my viewpoint is the fact that learning is the fundamental and inseparable part of students' lives without which their lives seem to be paralyzed. If we take a minute to ponder over it teachers should stay focus not only on students' courses but also in their personal lives. As a vivid example, vast majorities of students do not know how to take the responsibility of their acts and even do not know how to behave. Crowds of families complain about immoral behaviors and so forth. Arguably, teachers are the only people who can effectively and deeply nurture students and learn them how to view life differently and broaden their horizon. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that learning is not just school works or study hard in the school or university while learning is pertaining to the entire life, including duties, responsibilities, aspirations, priorities, behavior and so forth.

However, every coin has two sides. Being a popular teacher and liked by students is helpful as well. In fact, this situation makes any relationship based on a mutual trust and provide an opportunity for teachers to help students punctiliously. As a matter of fact, liked by students not only can enhance teachers' motivation and incentive but also can result in effective learning. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds that can lend weight to my personal view.