Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern society, people spend a considerable amount of their daily hours working. The improvement of working conditions has sparked controversy among business owners. While some critics believe that more working days with shorter hours would be more satisfying for employees, others consider fewer workdays would be better. As far as I'm concerned, employees would be more satisfied by being at their office for fewer days weekly. The reasons and points to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated hereunder.

First of all, having several full days off would help employees to take care of their overall well-being effectively. To be more specific, it goes without saying that nowadays, people are under a lot of pressure during their working hours, and with the tough competition among other colleagues, they have to bear a heavy workload to show their potential and get a promotion or other generous benefits. Moreover, they have to undergo traffic jams during rush hours while commuting. As a result, even if they work for shorter hours, these accumulative tensions would result in draining their whole energy. It is crystal clear that if they do not have enough energy, they will not be inclined to do exercise or making healthy home-made meals. However, if they have more free time during the weak, they would be able to enroll in a gym or eat a much more balanced diet, leading to a more healthy lifestyle that can help their overall health in the long run.

In addition, well-rested staff can contribute to boosting the profits of the company, which could heighten their chance of getting a promotion or other generous benefits by their boss. To put this idea in a more vivid picture, when people rest for a sufficient amount of time, their minds work more effectively afterward. The same would happen if employees have enough time to rest before they come to the office. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I graduated from university, I started to work in a small company in our town. I had to complete my projects during the weak and there was not any limit to how much time I would spend at the office. Therefore, I chose to go to work for ten hours from Monday to Thursday, and I used other days to get more sleep and do my other hobbies. As a result, during working days, I could come up with innovative ideas whenever the company encountered a problem. My boss was pleased with my high efficiency. Since the company earned a large sum of money because of my hard work, the boss promoted me to a higher position with a competitive salary. Needless to say, it improves not only my self-esteem but also my living conditions.

In light of the aforementioned reasons and points, one could conclude that a shorter workweek with longer working hours each day would be more gratifying for the workforce. It is because employees can enhance their overall well-being and because their boosted productivity at work aids them in achieving a more wealthy life.