Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally speaking friends make our lives colorful and meaningful. It is thought by some people that it is more important to keep our old friends close and never exchange them with the new ones. They believe that making new friends would shift their attention toward the old friends. However, I firmly believe that making new friends is as important as having the old ones. I feel this way for two reasons, which I would explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, it is essential to have new friends because they would come to your life in a time when you need them the most. People tend to make new friends when they are in a position in their lives that they need them. For example, my experience is a compelling illustration of this. A decade ago, when I came to the United States, I did not have anyone close to me. I wanted to make friends as soon as I could. I started to build new friendships with my co-workers, which helped me to feel different at my workplace. After our friendship grew at the next level, I really did not feel that I was living in a completely different country. I felt like I was home. In addition, being surrounded by friends you feel safe. Although old friends usually give you that impression, it is actually proved that the new friends just make you feel the same. Because of this experience, I truly believe that new friends are as important as the old friends.

Second of all, making new friends is better because it would spark a great interest and curiosity on you. People who are able to make new friends in nature are curious and like the diversity. They want to learn and share their experience with others. For example, three weeks ago, I met my new friend at the Toefl exam center, she shared her experience with Toefl, so that sparked my curiosity to learn more about her experience with Toefl. After a couple of meetings, we now help each other to improve and expand our knowledge, so we could accomplish our goal to pass the exam. If I had not met my new friend at the Toefl center, I would never have learned about her experience, which I really founded interesting. According to this, people should value new friends the same as they do their old friends.