Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the progressive world where we live, people always are looking for reliable, loyal, and good friends who they can rely on them in tough situation they encounter. In this regard, many thinks they should make new friends as much as possible, others, however, hold the view that they should keep their old friends and strengthen the basis of their old friendships efficiently. I, for two main reasons, subscribe to the latter group which I will elaborate on them in the following paragraphs.

One exquisite reason which comes to mind is that people usually grow up with their old friends. They definitely have so many similar experience with one another which this provides them with a sense of intimation as gradually they will turn into each other’s family member. Apparently, new friends have not had a key role in one another’s previous life, therefore, it would be difficult to make a deep emotional relationship with them. To put it in another words, I have an old friend whom I spent a large part of my life with her, since elementary school to university. Nonetheless, at university I made some new friends that I hung out with them. Despite the fact that my new friends claimed to be loyal and reliable, whenever I had some problems, my old friend back me up without any expectation.

Second, it is clearly that if two persons are old friends they have had a lots in common. If people have similar interests, similar goals, and ambitions in their life they are more likely to get along very well, and it guarantee their long lasting relationship. Many psychological studies revealed that people who have many things in common have a better influence on each other because they enjoy spending time with one another. However, since new ones have not spent a great amount of time together, it is less likely to be matched very well and have quality time in tandem. For example, when my friend and I spend time with together we talk about anything and we have a good understand of one another’s points of view. Nevertheless, when I want to talk with my new friends about my ideas, it always leads to an exhaustive debate and makes me disappointed.

All in all, considering the two mentioned reasons into account, I firmly assert that caring about our old friendship is a priority in our life because in this way not only do we have some intimated one around ourselves, but also we have the chance of making better time with old friends.