Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends.

It goes without saying that we all need friends in our life. Although some people believe that making new friends in different stages of life is essential, I think that keeping a close relationship with old friends is more important in our social life. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, old friends could guide us better than new ones because they know us better. Since we have spent more time with old friends, they know many aspects of our personality and are aware of our strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, they can give us valuable advice and suggestions. For instance, last year, I had a hard time dealing with a career dilemma. I could not decide which path I should choose, and I felt helpless. I talked about it with my closest friend, who knows me for almost 15 years and asked her to help me. She objectively listed my abilities and weak points and shared her own opinion about both careers. Seeing the situation from her point of view helped me to choose my job correctly.

Secondly, old friends are more reliable than new ones, and they could be our confidants. We share a strong bond of trust with our old friends, which enables us to express our emotions and problems to them much easier than with new friends. For example, Every time I face a personal issue, I talk about it with my old friend. I know that she will listen to me without judging and try to help me in any way she can. In contrast, I do not feel comfortable sharing my problems with new friends because building trust in new friendships takes time.

In conclusion, I totally agree that we should try to keep old friends in our life. This is because they know us well, thus they can guide us better than new friends. In addition, old friends are more reliable and trustworthy than new ones.