Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to choose friends that can have fun

with you than to choose friends that will help you when

you need them.

Friendship and communication with people are the most important pillars of each society in today’s world. Due to the fact that we live in a chaotic and fast-paced world, it is necessary for us to choose our friends wisely. A good friendship can bring us a pleasant time and has a positive influence on our mental and soul abilities. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether people should choose friends that can have fun with them or whether they should choose friends that will help them when they need. Some people possess the conviction that the former is more agreeable whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that the latter is more fruitful. I am personally content that this issue is multifaceted. While there are many features that we can consider as features that we can use as friendship measurement, the most critical one is reliability and a sense of responsibility. Furthermore, I’d rather continue with the second approach which is to choose a person who will help us when we need it. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind elucidating my standpoint is that helping people in a hard and tough situation is a basic step of humanity. It helps us to enhance and boost our relationships with our friends and feel better about them. In hard circumstances when there is no hope for our integrity, we can trust our friends’ help and ask them. Consider my personal experience to make this point more clear. When I was in my middle-twenty, one of my friends helped me to buy a new car. I was in a difficult situation and needed money to afford my life. Thus, I decided to buy a car and work at Uber. But, I was a student and I did not have financial support. She helped me and lent me money. Seven months later, I bought a car and worked hard to pay back her money.

The second rational reason behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that we can always have fun with people but true friends and close friends are who help us in hard situations. If we recognize these two kinds of definitions, we can choose our friends with awareness and our relationship will be durable for a long time. For example, teenagers have a lot of friends. They spend more time with their classmates that they think are true friends, but after graduation, they will find that some of their friendship just because they saw them every day.

In brief, due to the aforementioned reasons, I disagree with this statement that it is more important to choose friends that can have fun with you.